The 2017 Canadian Pacific Women’s Open | What to Expect

Here’s What To Expect

The Canadian Pacific Women’s Open starts tomorrow at the Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club in Canada’s capital city. With some of the world’s best golfers, this tournament is expected to draw tens of thousands of people this year.

The last time Ottawa hosted the tournament in 2008, more than 68,000 fans showed up, breaking an attendance record. Henderson is expected to be a big draw this time around, especially if she’s in the hunt for the lead going into Saturday and Sunday.

Defending Champs

The CP Women’s Open will feature 92 of the top 100 players on the LPGA Tour’s Official Money List, including 22 of the top 25, and the field is led this week by world No.1 So Yeon Ryu.

Defending champion Ariya Jutanugarn – who won in a playoff at the Manulife LPGA Classic earlier this year, will attempt to win the Canadian double – and three-time Canadian Open winner Lydia Ko join Ryu in the field to round out the betting favorites.

Tee Times / Group Pairings

  1. Brooke Henderson, Cristie Kerr, So Yeon Ryu | Tee Time: 8:16 A.M.

Canadian Pacific

This is by far one of the strongest groups for this tournament and the one I’ll be banking on to lead into Sunday.

Brooke Henderson is definitely a fan favorite – especially after winning the Meijer LPGA classic and the CVS Charity Caremark Classic. Henderson, who is a member at the Ottawa Hunt & Golf Club, sits 10th on the Rolex Rankings.

She’s paired with Cristie Kerr, who is coming off the American victory at the Solheim Cup last week, and who won this CP Open in 2006.

World No.1 So Yeon Ryu rounds out the group. Ryu has won twice already this season, including the year’s first major, the ANA Inspiration.

  1. Lydia Ko, Nelly Korda, Michelle Wie | Tee Time: 8:27 A.M.

Lydia Ko is from New Zealand but she is a three-time winner of this event. Ko has had a bit of an up-and-down season, but has managed to break seven top-10 finishes.

Paired with Ko is Michelle Wie, who is coming in from the Solheim Cup win last week.

Lastly, there is  Nelly Korda, who is in the running for the LPGA Tour’s Rookie of the Year award. Her best result of the year was a tie for fifth in the Bahamas, but she’s had two other top 10s since then.

  1. Paula Creamer, Katherine Kirk, Inbee Park | Tee Time: 1:20 P.M.

The last time this event was contested at the Ottawa Hunt & Golf Club, it was Australian Katherine Kirk who was victorious (in 2008). That marked Kirk’s first LPGA Tour win. This year she found the winner’s circle for the third time in her career.

She’s paired with Inbee Park, who captured the HSBC Women’s Champions earlier this year and sits 13th on the Race to CME Globe.

Last but not least is Paula Creamer. Although Creamer has had only one top-10 finish in 2017, perhaps she will be surprise us this week after her fine performance on last week’s winning Solheim Cup team.

  1. Ariya Jutanugarn, Sung Hyun Park, Angel Yin | Tee Time: 1:42 P.M.

Ariya Jutanugarn won last year’s CP Women’s Open, which is quite an accomplishment. She comes into this week refreshed after an injury forced her to withdraw a few weeks ago. Jutanugarn has had a rocky season, however, she captured the Manulife LPGA Classic and looks to continue her excellent play this week.

LPGA Tour rookie sensation Sung Hyun Park is part of this team. She captured the U.S. Women’s Open earlier this summer. She also has four other top-5 finishes. She also sits fourth in the Rolex Rankings after less than a year as a professional.

Angel Yin, a fellow rookie, rounds out the group. Yin’s best result has been a tie for fifth. Yin was a fixture on last week’s winning Solheim Cup team for the American side.

For more information, visit

Please follow and like us: